RSS

Does the Lack of the Futura Font Doom Moonrise Kingdom?

13 Jan

I’m a huge Wes Anderson fan. When the trailer for Moonrise Kingdom hit the net I may or may not have let out a full-on girlie squeal and did a happy dance.

If you guessed that I may have, you’d be correct.

Besides the fact that Bill Murray and Jason Schwartzman are in almost every Wes Anderson film, there is another common thread. And that thread, my friends, is the Futura font.

Futura - A Typographical Hug

Scientifically, it seems that the Futura Font + Jason Schwartzman + Bill Murray = The perfect storm, being a Wes Anderson movie.

So why is it, just when my equations were lining up perfectly, that the trailer for Moonrise Kingdom comes out, displaying…cursive?

Moonrise Kingdom title - in...not Futura

Are my calculations off? Is Wes Anderson shedding the typographical security blanket? Just when I was assured that all Wes Anderson movies meant safe characters, Paul Simon soundtracks, a Hipstamatic-appearance and Futura font, my world was turned upside-down. Next thing you know, Wes Anderson will be directing the next season of Real Housewives (ok, maybe I’m overreacting just a little).

Do you associate certain fonts with certain people/movies/ideas? Just me?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Does the Lack of the Futura Font Doom Moonrise Kingdom?

  1. Steve Nussbaum

    January 15, 2012 at 1:22 am

    I am wondering about the font, too; though I simply perceive the change as natural progression. No one has identified the font yet, and “What the Font” couldn’t.

    What about the French song?

    Steve

     
  2. thatnerdgirl

    April 3, 2012 at 12:55 am

    Yeah I am sort of freaking out about this whole no Futura thing. My favorite thing about Wes ANderson is that he knows exactly who he is as a filmmaker and what he wants the films to look like, down to every last detail. Look at Tenenbaums, for example. There was such attention to detail in that film–EVERY font was futura and if you look at his early sketches, nearly everything is replicated perfectly. I just hope that this deviation from futura doesn’t mean a deviation from the attention to detail that we all love about his films.

     

Leave a Reply

 
